Phi Sigma Phi National Fraternity founded 1988

The history of Phi Sigma Phi begins not so much with an actual date, but rather with the evolution of ideals and dedication to independence and freedom of choice. On July 30, 1988, in South Bend, Indiana, Phi Sigma Phi National Fraternity was formally organized to serve as a national organization, uniting college men who wished to share in the spirit of true friendship and brotherhood. Years of fraternity experience and know-how laid the foundation of this new national fraternity.

The Founding Seven

The group of alumni and undergraduate college men who were the driving force behind the formation of Phi Sigma Phi were alumni and former chapter members of Phi Sigma Epsilon who elected not to participate in a merger between Phi Sigma Epsilon and Phi Sigma Kappa in 1985. Seven chapters and select alumni supported this new and independent organization. The undergraduate chapters which became “The Founding Seven” of Phi Sigma Phi were:

Lambda Chapter

Eastern Michigan University, Ypsilanti Michigan

Omega Chapter

University of Wisconsin-Stout, Menomonie, Wisconsin

Phi Beta Chapter

University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire, Eau Claire, Wisconsin

Phi Iota Chapter

Northland College, Ashland, Wisconsin

Phi Kappa Chapter

West Virginia Wesleyan College, West Virginia

Phi Mu Chapter

Concord College, Athens, West Virginia

Sigma Zeta Chapter

University of Wisconsin-River Falls, Wisconsin

…These, our Founding Seven

Leadership and Survival

Leading this small group of chapters into the formation of a new national fraternity were former Phi Sigma Epsilon alumni who were elected to serve as Phi Sigma Phi’s first National Council: Harry Parker (National President), Mark Helling (National Vice-President), Rick Facemire (National Vice-President), Dan Foster (National Vice-President), and George Perry (National Vice-President). David Prueher (Regional Director), John Lecco, and Ken Siverling (Chapter Consultants) also served as members of the National Staff. In addition, long time supporters and former Phi Sigma Epsilon National Presidents Dean Rockwell (1950-1958) and John Sandwell (1978-1984) added their advice and experience to all areas of operations.

Although there was strong support for this new fraternity from many campuses and alumni, the first years of Phi Sigma Phi’s existence were difficult. During the years of 1988 through 1990, the National Fraternity struggled for survival, and expansion was nonexistent. Establishing new nati